Angels in our lives…

So, I FINALLY got over my cold and was planning on doing a nice’n easy, few ks, comeback-run… just to get back into running mode (plus, I wasn’t really in the mood for a longer run since it was rainy, dark and we had freezing wind chills).

Well, that was the plan, until I read an e-mail from a fellow CCC (that’s Cyclists Combating Cancer, for those who haven’t heard about us, yet ;-)) family member – Marcia.

Anyone who knows Marcia will be able to second (or third, or fourth…) that she’s a true angel. She spreads the message of HOPE like few others, has awesome quotes to share and is just a lovely person. She’s also the one who keeps us up-to-date on her husband’s cancer journey.

Seeing such a kind and loving couple go through tough times, makes me feel helpless. I’m on the other side of the pond, so except for replying to her e-mails and thinking about them, there’s not much I can do. Today, I ran for Marcia & Greg. I ran until I reached the downtown area of our city and passed the Christmas market. There, in the midst of Christmas decoration and the hustle and bustle of what is Christmas shopping, was a lovely light display (it would’ve been even better if it actually had been dark…but then again, you wouldn’t be able to see the names, so it’s all good!).

Sometimes, the angels in our lives need us to spend a little extra time each day, thinking about them and keeping them in our prayers… not more, not less. So, my nice’n easy run turned into a 10.1k/6.28 mile run, just because I couldn’t stop thinking about Marcia & Greg. Her most recent e-mail included this quote:

Enjoy what you can; endure what you must.
-Goethe

Did I enjoy my run today? Very much so, because I CAN run, when others can’t. I’ve committed to run the LIVESTRONG Half Marathon in Austin in February and I will endure the pain that probably will come with it. It will be one heck of a struggle to raise the money to actually be able to run alongside with fellow Team LIVESTRONG runners (there’s a $500 fundraising requirement), and let’s not think about the plane ticket or hotel costs, but I WILL be there and run for people like Marcia & Greg. Why? Well…

“There’s a difference between interest and commitment. When you’re interested in doing something, you do it only when circumstances permit. When you’re committed to something, you accept no excuses, only results.” – Art Turock

I’m not interested in running, I made a commitment … so watch out Austin (especially the potholes ;-))!

2 months, 4 days. 14 hours, 49 minutes to go until we kick cancer in the face at the 2012 LIVESTRONG Austin Half Marathon. Game on, cancer!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Angels in our lives…

  1. As ‘commitment’ so much greater than ‘interest’, so is your ‘involvement and belief’ so much greater than just ‘commitment’.

    Henrike, in all of my time and efforts in working for various cancer support/research organizations, I’ve never met another person more dedicated to ‘the good of the cause’ with such little regard as to any possible personal gain resulting from all of your efforts.

    Being able to interact with you during the time period I was involved was definitely the highlight of those experiences.

    Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!

    • Thank you, Michael – Merry Christmas and all the best for 2012 for you + Patricia!
      It was my first 10k in more than 15 years (and I even got in a few “bumps”-not going to call them hills😉. Even though it was a slow one (1h:09m), I really start loving to run… who would’ve thought?!?

Leave a Reply

