Running, so others won’t run out of time (sad news…)!

Yesterday, I posted this to my FB wall:

Looks like it will be cold and foggy on tomorrow’s run. Anyone want to help motivate me by donating a small amount to LIVESTRONG?! I’ll write your name (or the name of someone you know affected by cancer) on my arm and will post a picture later on. Any help is greatly appreciated as I train for my first ever half marathon in a little under 3 months! http://laf.livestrong.org/goto/henrike

Life can be cruel sometimes (and I don’t mean the fact that while it got me a few “likes”, it didn’t result in any donations). Here I was asking for a donation and a name to “wear” on my arm to keep me motivated during my run, and inspiration showed up in the most tragic and cruel possible way: I woke up to the news that a good friend of two of my friends (who I walked/rode for the past 3 Challenges) ran out of time after a long journey with breast cancer. So, I got out of the house this morning and ran 4x ’round the lake.

It was foggy, it was cold, it was emotional, I thought about Carrie’s family, loved ones & friends a lot, shed a few tears, got angry (how can you not get a bit angry when people fight like hell and still get killed by cancer?), felt helpless and literally couldn’t stop running.

I ran 4.37 miles/7k in honor of Carries’s life today – wished I could do more…

2 months, 27 days, 17 hours, 33 minutes to go… cancer SUCKS!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Running, so others won’t run out of time (sad news…)!

  1. Andre' Lejeune says:

    This is such a beautiful and inspirational story. My name is Andre’ Lejeune and I went to middle school and High School with Carrie. We grew up around the corner from each other and as with so many others we became dear friends. I’ve been a life long competitive runner and now train and run with the Central Park Track Club in New York City. I recently completed the NYC Marathon and will begin training soon for the Boston Marathon. I will be dedicating this race and all future races for Carrie and a cure for cancer…. Thank You, Andre’

Leave a Reply

