Hi, my name is Henrike and I’m a…..

… little overweight due to a thyroid condition!

For the past 5 years (it might have started even earlier, but I’ve been feeling the consequences for about 5 years now), I had difficulties breathing while exercising, I gained weight (a lot), I received weird looks from people who either assumed I ate a lot or at least unhealthy stuff and people who knew me gave me advice on how to stick to a diet.

While I have to admit I enjoy real food (I’m not, never will be, and don’t want to be like those skinny model types), I don’t eat a lot and what I eat tends to be healthy, well-balanced and home cooked. My parents will tell you that I don’t care much for cake or cookies, although I have a passion for good chocolate. Plus, I gained weight even though I was working out. What it all comes down to is that I went through a tough time and it took a loooooooong time (and a lot of misdiagnoses), for my GP to diagnose hypo-thyroidism. What a relief that diagnosis was for me – most of my friends and people who saw me at university or on the street still didn’t understand what that meant and blamed my lifestyle for how I looked, but I KNEW it wasn’t my fault that I kept gaining weight.

It’s a chronic condition, but I’m actually on the right (and quite low) medicine, I felt better, didn’t get tired all the time, my breathing got a lot easier and I’m now starting to train for my first half-marathon EVER in february. Today I’m so happy I could cry. For the first time in 5 years, I actually lost 3.3 lbs. While that might not sound like a reason to celebrate to most people, it is a HUGE breakthrough for this girl – I feel I’m about to reclaim my life.

Btw, I didn’t celebrate by eating a chocolate bar, instead I got on the stepper for a 1/2 hour😉 Here’s a picture of me crossing the finish line after the 5k walk in Philly. We’ll see if you can spot any changes when seeing a picture of me crossing the finish line at the LIVESTRONG Austin Half Marathon 2012! One thing won’t change, though, I’ll still shed a few tears when crossing the finish line, but that’s more than ok!!

3 months, 15 hours, 19 minutes to go – GAME ON, cancer!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Hi, my name is Henrike and I’m a…..

  1. Mazal tov! I’m glad you were able to find the right medication balance! It’s been 10 years, and we still haven’t nailed it! Go, Henrike!

  2. Amanda Otto says:

    Henrike, I’m honored and proud to be a friend of yours and can’t wait to see you cross that finish line in Austin! I’ll be the one screaming the loudest for you!🙂

  3. Nothing can stop you now! Love you, Soul Sister!

  4. Alex says:

    I’m so much in awe of you, Henrike! You’re beautiful is so very many ways and I wish I had just a tiny bit of your tremendous strength and perseverance. Brava!

  5. Marcia Banta says:

    Happy Dance :-)))!

  6. Anne says:

    Awesome post and congrats with the weight loss. I am training for a halfmarathon myself in 2012. Will cheer for you. Go go go!!!

  7. Ed (Trekcyclist) says:

    Henrike,
    Keep on Dancing Love, You really do ROCK….

Leave a Reply

