To run or not to run…

Today’s a run day… at least in theory. I’m trying to get a run in every other day, seeing that I’m a newbie and don’t want to overdo it, yet run regularly to get into shape. So, when I checked the weather report for my city this morning and saw a sunny 6°C, I was looking forward to my run… until I actually looked outside. Ha, no sun, no 6°C – instead we’ve got a freezing 1°C and grey skies everywhere! After getting all other scheduled things done, it was 2pm and a hot chocolate in front of the TV with a warm blanket sounded like a wonderful idea.

Yeah, right, as if young cancer survivor Donal Walsh would take a break from fighting cancer just because it was easier to do. There’s nothing warm and fuzzy about fightig cancer and yet, millions of people get up each day and give their all to get healthy again and beat the odds. Thanks Donal for the inspiration I needed to get out and run a slow and steady 4.5k and thanks Van for your support! It means the world to me!!

To run or not to run…not really a valid question on my way to the LIVESTRONG Austin half marathon. Next up: running for a friend, supporter, survivor and….runner. Oh my ;-)  3 months, 2 days, 15 hours, 33 minutes to go. Game on, cancer!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to To run or not to run…

  1. Donal Walsh says:

    This is unreal!!! Thanks so much!
    Donal
    LIVESTRONG

  2. Anna says:

    I asked myself exactly that question this morning….it was a bit cold (-8C) and I’m a bit tired (I didn’t sleep so well last night). Pathetic really! I didn’t go. First thing tomorrow I’ll be out there, running long to make up for it! When I ran my first marathon I thought of the fight cancer patients endure daily and it got me through the pain of those last few miles….my pain was nothing and it was short lived. Everyday I’m inspired by my husband’s battle to stay strong. LIVESTRONG!

    Thank you for reminding me to get out and run!

  3. Pingback: Running free! « Anna writes…

Leave a Reply

