Reasons why I’ll run a half marathon in 2012

It’s one of those days when I really miss being on my bike, but since that won’t be happening for at least the rest of this year, I had to suck it up and get my butt on the stepper for 1/2 an hour. Let’s just say, indoor-cardio-training is not my cup of tea – at least it got me thinking…

Every goal you set seems to be easier to reach once you have set up a list of reasons why you’re going after those goals. Setting a goal was the easy part: running a half marathon in the first 1/2 of ’12. Here are just some of my reasons why:

  • being a college student (who’ll write her BA-thesis this semester), I’m spending an awful lot of time sitting in front of the computer. Now, while this is not a good thing for most of us, it’s even worse for someone who has thyroid issues and needs a certain amount of physical exercise to lose those extra pounds I gained while being not properly diagnosed. Running accomplishes that and is a great way to forget about studying and relax your mind… almost like a meditative state of mind. Plus, it doesn’t bother my shoulder, so that’s great!
  • I’m curious to see if I can actually push my limits far enough to do this (while I can run 5k in a pretty decent time, I’m not quite sure if I can run 20+k) – hmmh, I’ll have a fun time finding out
  • some of my friends are runners, and they always talk about running marathons and halfs and how much work it is to get to run day (no kidding), but also about the great feeling of accomplishment when they cross the line – now, being a cycling chick on hiatus, I can only imagine how that feels, but I’m eager to find out – CRAZY, huh?😉
  • so many of my friends can’t run or ride right now because of either an injury, illness or health condition… I’ll run because I CAN (there’s really no excuse not to)
  • I’ve been riding/walking at LIVESTRONG Challenges for the past 6 years. In 2011 thought I’d participate in Philly for a change (which was fantastic… except for the weather challenges😉, now I’m looking for a new challenge for 2012- and running with Team LIVESTRONG seems like a good idea. I’ll let you know how you can cheer me on/make me run some extra miles/support me and cancer survivorship programs very soon.
  • but most of all, I’ll run for my friends/family/loved ones who are facing a cancer diagnosis right now or who have gone through this at an earlier time and now face the fear of re-occurance. I know what it’s like to face your fears, treatment options, complications, physical exhaustion, pain, emotional aspects, etc. – and while they go through a life-changing process, I can’t sit at home and do nothing. So, I pledge to get my butt out of the house regularly, push myself even when there are set backs, and fight like hell! YOU know who you are and I’m doing this is support of all of you!
    xx
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

