Hello world!

Welcome to my blog, which will accompany me on my journey to run a 1/2 marathon in 2012. If you’ll follow my road to the half, you’ll most likely see struggles and victories, pain, laughter & smiles and some pictures of the places I run to.

Most of my friends will have a hard time believing I’m really going back to running after 15+ years of a running hiatus. Why? It’s really simple: because I can. I’m getting my life back – and that means going after things I really want. I just needed a little push. That push came after I fell over a pothole at the 2011 Austin Challenge 5k walk. Yes, you can actually fall during a walk (even though I’m trying to think of it as an attempt to reenact Superman). Anyhow, my surgeon told me to stay off the road bike for the next 2 months (I’ve got a shoulder injury).

Seeing that I do not enjoy going to the gym – AT ALL – I was looking for an alternative, when some friends of mine talked about the Austin Half Marathon on FB. That was all the incentive I needed to get started. I already had the running gear (I bought a running top and pants in Philly and told my friend Geoff that I would no longer have a reason not to run after returning from the Philly Challenge). Oh well, it took awhile, but there won’t be any excuses from now on😉

I started running a short 2,1k loop around the block yesterday. OK, so the time of 16 minutes is not worth bragging about, and it won’t result in a rookie of the year award, but I’m proud that I got out there on a Sunday morning in less than enticing weather conditions with some pains and lots of bruises… and grateful that I was able to breathe normally for most of the distance.

I can’t wait to see what adventures I’ll run into and to share the reasons why I’m running. Here’s to whatever tomorrow will bring. Game On!

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

